Public Practice Name

What is allowed for my Public Practice or Professional Corporation name?

What can I use as my Public Practice Name? 

Pursuant to CPA New Brunswick Legislation, Public Accounting Firms have three years after September 1, 2014, to replace their reference to a legacy designation with "CPA" or "Chartered Professional Accountant."

Public accounting firms that were registered or licensed by a legacy body at September 1, 2014, will have to change their public practice name on or before August 31, 2017, to represent themselves as "CPA" or "Chartered Professional Accountant."  Any new firm registered with CPA New Brunswick post September 1, 2014, must use "CPA" or 'Chartered Professional Accountant" at the time of registration.

What is allowed for my Professional Corporation Name?

In accordance with By-Law 19.05, member or former member given names, initials, and surnames are to be used, followed by “Professional Corporation” or “P.C.” (or their French equivalents). The words “Chartered Professional Accountants” or the initials “CPA” (or their French equivalents) may be used. By-Law 19.05 also prescribes the order in which information is to be found in the corporate name.

Here are some examples of acceptable professional corporation name:

  • Whipp P.C. Inc.
  • N. Whipp P.C. Inc.
  • Nancy Whipp P.C. Inc.
  • Whipp Professional Corporation Inc.
  • N. Whipp & Associates P.C. Inc.
  • N. Whipp Chartered Professional Accountant P.C. Inc.
  • N. Whipp CPA P.C. Inc.
  • N. Whipp & M. Lapierre P.C. Inc.

While PCs need not include the terms “Chartered Professional Accountant(s)” in their name, if they choose not to, they are required to carry their public practice “under that descriptive style”.

The acceptable professional corporation names in public practice are:

  • N. Whipp Chartered Professional Accountant P.C. Inc.
  • N. Whipp CPA P.C. Inc.
  • N. Whipp P.C. Inc.,

Chartered Professional Accountant (under the descriptive style)

Note that a member can use a public practice name which differs from the corporate name, but if so, would be required to include the full corporate name on all letterhead, reports, financial statements and invoices issued by the PC (By-Law 19.07).

We also refer you to Rule 401 in the CPA New Brunswick Code of Professional Conduct, which sets out the requirements for practice names.

Rule 401 - A member or registered firm shall engage in the practice of public accounting only under a name or style which:

  • is not misleading;
  • is not self-laudatory;
  • does not contravene professional good taste; and
  • has been approved by the Registrar in a manner specified by the Board.

In addition, since September 1, 2014, public accounting firms registered with CPA New Brunswick shall only represent themselves using the designation "Chartered Professional Accountant" when signing and issuing assurance reports and declarations of any kind. Use of a legacy body designation is not permitted.

Finally, please note that the name that appears on your Professional Liability Insurance Certificate must match your Public Practice name so that your professional services will be covered in case of legal action.

For any questions, please contact us at info@cpanewbrunswick.ca.

Nom de pratique d'activité publique

Que puis-je utiliser comme nom de pratique d'activité publique?

Conformément à la Loi de CPA Nouveau-Brunswick, les pratiques d'activité publique ont trois ans après le 1er septembre 2014 pour remplacer leur mention à une désignation d'origine par « CPA » ou « Comptable professionnel(le) agréé(e) ».

Les pratiques d'activité publique, qui ont été enregistrées ou autorisées par un organisme fusionnant au 1er septembre 2014, devront donc changer leur nom de pratique publique au plus tard le 31 août 2017 pour se représenter comme « CPA » ou « Comptable professionnel(le) agréé(e) ». Toute pratique qui s'est inscrite auprès de CPA Nouveau-Brunswick après le 1er septembre 2014 doit absolument utiliser « CPA » ou « Comptable professionnel(le) agréé(e) » pour se représenter.

Quel nom puis-je utiliser pour ma corporation professionnelle (CP)?

Conformément à l'article 19.05, le nom de famille, ou le nom de famille et une combinaison des prénoms ou des initiales d’un ou de plusieurs membres ou anciens membres doivent être utilisés, suivis de « Corporation professionnelle » ou « C.P. » (ou leurs équivalents anglais). Les mots « Comptables professionnels agréés » ou les initiales « CPA » (ou leurs équivalents anglais) peuvent être utilisés. Le règlement administratif 19.05 prescrit également l'ordre dans lequel l'information doit figurer dans la dénomination sociale.

Voici quelques exemples de noms de corporations professionnelles qui sont acceptables:

  • Whipp C.P. Inc.
  • N. Whipp C.P. Inc.
  • Nancy Whipp C.P. Inc.
  • Whipp Corporation professionnelle Inc.
  • N. Whipp & Associés C.P. Inc.
  • N. Whipp Comptable professionnelle agréée C.P. Inc.
  • N. Whipp CPA C.P. Inc
  • N. Whipp & M. Lapierre C.P. Inc.

Bien que les CP n'aient pas à inclure les termes «comptable professionnel agréé» à leur nom s'ils le souhaitent, ils doivent exercer leur pratique publique « selon ce style descriptif ».

Les noms de corporations professionnelles offrant des services d’activité publique qui sont acceptables sont les suivants:

  • N. Whipp Comptable professionnelle agréée C.P. Inc.
  • N. Whipp CPA C.P. Inc.
  • N. Whipp C.P. Inc.

          Comptable professionnelle agréée (sous le style descriptif)

Notez qu'un membre peut utiliser un nom de pratique publique qui diffère de la dénomination sociale, mais si tel est le cas, il doit inclure la dénomination sociale complète sur tous les rapports, les en-têtes, états financiers et factures émis par la CP (règlement administratif 19.07).

Nous voulons également vous référer à l'article 401 du Code de déontologie de CPA Nouveau-Brunswick qui énonce les exigences relatives aux noms des pratiques d'activité publique.

Règle 401 - Un membre ou une société inscrite ne pratique la pratique de la comptabilité publique que sous un nom ou un style qui:

  • n'est pas trompeur;
  • n'est pas auto-laudatoire;
  • ne contrevient pas au bon goût professionnel; et
  • a été approuvé par le registrateur de la manière indiquée par le conseil.

De plus, depuis le 1er septembre 2014, les pratiques d'activité publiques enregistrées auprès de CPA Nouveau-Brunswick doivent utiliser « Comptable professionnel(le) agréé(e) » lors de la signature et de l'émission de rapports de certification ou de déclarations de quelque nature que ce soit. L'utilisation d'une désignation d'un organisme fusionnant n'est pas permise.

Enfin, veuillez également noter que le nom figurant sur votre certificat d'assurance responsabilité professionnelle doit correspondre au nom de votre pratique publique afin que les services offerts par cette dernière soient couverts en cas de poursuite.

Pour toute question, veuillez communiquer avec nous à info@cpanewbrunswick.ca.